23.-25. november 2012 Pühajärve Puhkekeskus
[Esilehele] [Juhend] [Registreerunud] [Tulemused]
[LIVE] [Varasemad võitjad] [Varasemad tabelid] [Artiklid meedias]
In English

Pühajärve Rapid Chess tournament

Pühajärve Rapid Chess tournament is a rather special chess event for especially invited chess enthusiasts from Estonia and around the World. This year, it will be held for the 13th time and the following players of note will participate:

Nigel Short, GBR 2692
Tomi Nybäck, FIN 2598
Normunds Miezis, LAT 2595
Kaido Külaots, EST 2579
Meelis Kanep, EST 2508
Aleksandr Volodin, EST 2502

International Masters:
Axel Smith, SWE 2484
Riho Liiva, EST 2451
Olav Sepp, EST 2446
Tarvo Seeman, EST 2386

The event is traditionally held as a round robin tournament with 10+10 minutes handicap time control. All players are divided into 5 groups and the time difference between two adjacent groups is 4 minutes. For example, for two players belonging to the A group the time control will be 10 minutes for each, an A-B pair gets respectively 8 and 12 minutes and so on until 2 and 18 minutes for an A player against an E player.


23.11.2012 18.00, 8 rounds in a row
24.11.2012 10.00, 8 rounds in a row
a lunch break

24.11.2012 16.00, 9 rounds in a row
25.11.2012 10.00, 6 rounds in a row

Alltogether 32 players will be invited, among them businessmen, writers, journalists and politicians. Last year, the four best-scoring players were 1. GM Tomi Nyback FIN, 2. GM Artur Jussupow GER, 3. IM Olav Sepp EST and 4. GM Normunds Miezis LAT.

The event is sponsored by the Pühajärve Spa and Holiday resort and Silmet Group. The chief arbiter of the tournament is Mr. Gert Elmaste and it is organized by the Stamina Sports Club (stamina[at]stamina.ee). The event will be broadcast online by Playchess.